Mostly Music. Often Insight. Sometimes Nonsense.

October 19, 2014 12:40 pm

To Hold by Sea Oleena. Atmospheric and fragile music, reminiscent of Liz Harris (aka Grouper), from Montreal’s Sea Oleena. I like Pitchfork’s description of Sea Oleena’s sound: It lives somewhere in a sleepy middleground between bummed-out drone and deconstructed folk. From the band’s debut full-length album, Shallow

11:57 am

All In The Value by Honne. The most recent track from this East London duo has a soulful, seductive, R&B vibe with flourishes of electronica and funk, including a Prince-like guitar solo at the 2:30 mark. 

October 15, 2014 1:46 pm

Sonsick by San Fermin. Not a new track…and I may have posted it months ago…but worth another listen especially as San Fermin is currently on tour. From their extraordinary self-titled debut album. 

October 12, 2014 12:23 pm

Slow Train by Streets of Laredo. From the band’s Soundcloud profile

Streets of Laredo is a sing-a-long collision of jangling harmonies, stomping percussion, horns, guitars, and more crazy instruments than you can shake a sampler at.

Founded by close-knit family members Daniel, Dave and Sarahjane Gibson and inspired by the fervour and madness of the 70’s folk-rock circuit, the band was born out of trying to escape the mundane everyday working life.

Get their new album Volume I and Volume II on iTunes.  Hat tip to fred-wilson for making these Kiwis his artist of the weekend. 

October 11, 2014 5:15 pm

Owing by Febueder. The first single from this UK trio’s forthcoming EP, Lilac Lane, is an eclectic cacophony of undulating rhythms, instruments and syncopations. Also check out their latest track, Brazilia

4:59 pm

Keep Some Hope by Wildbirds & Peacedrums. 

Wildbirds & Peacedrums' latest cut is an exercise in rhythm, pace and structure. There's a similarty to the jerky, oddball cacophony that tUnE-YaRdS produces, though W&P wield more standard melodies. It’s almost like a kind of organic dance music; imagine if Disclosure or Rudimental, complete with guest soul/R&B vocalist, chucked out the synths and just went to town on drumkits.

Mariam explains the track: 

“‘Keep Some Hope’ is our take on a classic soul song… A body in a sea of despair. We cling onto each other, holding hard to what is still steady. It is sprung from the turbulent times we live in. The chaos in the world and the speed of everything. Fighting to stay above the surface.”


4:49 pm

Dust by Halos. The debut track from this relatively unknown London trio is a perfect blend of brooding melancholia and falsetto luminosity. 

4:21 pm

Bassically by Tei Shi. Italo-disco influenced electro-pop featuring spacey synths, slinky bass lines and Valerie Teicher’s seductively acrobatic vocals. 

October 8, 2014 3:43 pm

Slow Motion by Phox. Worth it just for the oboe solo…let alone Monica Martin’s gentle-as-a-feather vocals and the quirky pop-folk jam. From the band’s self-titled debut album. 

October 5, 2014 1:39 pm

Hey Hey by Little Children. Swedish Indie singer songwriter Linus Lutti, is back with “Hey Hey” his latest single with producer multi-instrumentalist Andreas Söderström, and drummer Mattias Bergqvist. 

1:35 pm

Don’t Tell Our Friends About Me by Blake Mills. Virtuosic guitarist (Eric Clapton recently called him, “the last guitarist I heard that I thought was phenomenal”), touring musician (he has played with Beck, Fiona Apple, Lucinda Williams) and producer (Conor Oberst, Alabam Shakes, Sky Ferreira) Blake Mills is back with his second album, Heigh Ho. Featuring Mill’s country-blues influenced fretwork, an all-star band that includes Don Was, Jim Keltner, Benmont Tench, Jon Brion and Fiona Apple, and Mills’ richly crafted songwriting, Heigh Ho is an understated gem of an album. 

October 4, 2014 4:45 pm

Rot Inside by Halsan Bazar and Tara King Th. What do you get when you combine Danish psych-rockers with French baroque popsters? Apparently, a swirling, cinematic and darkly romantic sound that begs for repeat listening. Here’s how Hazan Bazar describes the collaboration and the track, Rot Inside:

I´ve always been keen on a duet like 60’s pop, with a real film-ish country twang to it. Tara King’s filmatic approach to it accents our sloppy garage-country into some bachelor pad baroque epicness, and Beatrice’s cold femme fatal-ish style I always love. The ending is my favorite of all of it. somehow I was inspired by 2Pac’s “Gangsta Paradise” when I made up those ‘strings’ in the end. Actually I totally ripped that off.

From their forthcoming collaborative album, 8

4:32 pm

Ten Street by Ultimate Painting. Rambling, relaxed, retro grooves reminiscent of late 60’s pop. From this UK duo’s forthcoming self-titled debut album. 

October 3, 2014 5:04 pm

Wildfires by Mariachi El Bronx. Punk meets mariachi trumpets and classic Mexican instruments on the band’s forthcoming album, III, due out on November 4th. Ariba! 

September 28, 2014 9:56 am

Higher by Lia Ices. On her recently released third album, Ices, Lia Ices experiments with a fusion of electronica, tribal pop and world beats. Higher is an ebullient and infectious jam that features a bouncy organ, distorted guitar and Ice’s breathy double-tracked vocals.